The end of the day?

Al’s gone out to have coffee and pick up stuff from my shopping list. I am enjoying reheated coffee, the last in the pot. Added a lot of half-and-half. It tastes really good!

The day seemed altogether too rushed. The week, actually. I have gotten my writing done before my deadlines, for which I am happy. I decided that for Wednesday’s #BeWoW “uplifting/inspirational” quotation or other post, I would recycle another one of the articles published by Moondance e-zine, started by Loretta Kemsley (Women Artists and Writers International). I wrote and edited for them for a number of years, late 1990s-early 2000s. Today, I’d probably rewrite a lot of the stuff. If nothing else, it’s dated because of the activities Al and I were into then that we aren’t now. I think what I was getting at is still relevant.

I wonder how I ever got all that stuff done and also maintained one or two freelance businesses while keeping up with the … no, someone came in to do the cleaning every month, after I’d been married a couple of years and the work load picked up, again. I miss her. She did really good for a long time.

Once the heavy rains started seeping into the foundation of the house and we had to move so much stuff upstairs, things got out of control. I have to get organized. I even found my old Let’s Get Organized book, which worked really well when it was just me (before marriage) and I had no pets. We were in our mid-40s when we got married, and I’d been working freelance unofficially and then officially since the age of 37. I get tired just thinking about it.

Well, this will be the test. With new front window, new gutters, old sidewalks removed, and the lot regraded, there should no longer be water in the basement. That will be good.

I am worried a bit that I am not keeping up on my correspondence as I ought. It’s easy just to sit down and write on the computer screen. Thinking out a letter, revising it, laying it out on the page, and then printing it, finding stamps and envelopes and such…. Not yet. I don’t know how my mother does it! She’s now changed the cartridges on her color printer and gotten her October (and November?) calendar printed out. I imagine that means I will receive a homemade birthday card from her, again this year.

On my day’s list, I still have left washing flatware, dishes and pots. Ah, but the yogurt that I made earlier in the week is exquisitely delicious. I’ve eaten (and shared with my puppy) three jars in three days. It is most marvelous. And I think that I still have eight starter packets in the refrigerator. Al asked, before he left, if he should bring home another gallon of milk. I said, “Yes, please!”

(◍•ᴗ•◍) ❤

And you?

