Actual coffee break

Because I slept away so very much of Friday, I ended up not getting to sleep until after three or four o’clock in the morning. I awoke after eight o’clock, and I am on my second cup of coffee. My first was cold-brew with half-and-half, and this second cup is drip-brew coffee, which I made for my husband when he woke, poured into the remainder of the cold-brew.

We have a grocery store stop to make before Al starts his four-hour shift at the marksmanship center. During that time I hope to finish washing all the dishes, pots and pans, get another batch of yogurt into the incubator.(Whenever I make the stuff, I wonder why I ever get the store-bought, because the homemade tastes so much better!)

Discovery! My “Do Not Disturb” setting on my telephone can be set so that my phone rings only when someone on my “Favorites” list calls me, or, less disruptive, only when someone on my Contacts list calls. Such sweetness! Early yesterday morning (I think it was yesterday) I started having trouble with some sort of allergic reaction, and so I got out of bed and took three aspirins and an antihistamine pill, and then went back to bed and finally got into a sound sleep.

Two hours later, a bit before eight o’clock, the phone started ringing. Robo-calls are supposedly illegal even when one’s mobile telephone number is not on the State/Federal Do Not Call List. And so my day was a series of interrupted naps, until I changed my settings and turned on “Do Not Disturb”.

I’m retired. Nobody really needs me, and those who have a claim to my attention are on or can request to be put on my contact list. What I need is sleep.

And you?

