Just for the fun of it

If we were having coffee, this morning, we would be sharing a nice, hot, chocolate Toddy coffee made with whole milk instead of water. I have moved another (virtual) recliner into my bed-sitting room, so we’ll be comfortable. The dog is still asleep, which seems odd, since she usually doesn’t sleep in, once I am awake.

If we were having coffee together, I would tell you that this has been a fun week for me, as far as writing poetry. I’m enjoying it a lot. What does worry me, though, is the pain in my chest that I think might be the beginning of bronchitis, which is how I spent most of December, last year. I have made the shift to getting to bed and (theoretically) to sleep before midnight. I sleep longer, that way. The temperature has warmed up, snow is melting, and so there may be molds in the air.

If we were having coffee together, I would share my concern about the house next door’s having been sold. My health has been much better (yes, really!) since the previous owners bought a new house and moved, last May, leaving the house unoccupied. I worry that they will use a toxic dryer sheet when they dry their clothing or set up a turkey smoker in their driveway or on their back porch. I worry that they will have recreational fires and not warn me beforehand, so that all the windows can be closed and rags stuffed under the doors to block the smoke. I worry because city ordinances are not enforced. The house next door changes owners often enough that I am getting tired of worrying. Writing poems helps that.

A joy in my life is that I think I have enough energy to wash the dishes, this weekend, while Al enjoys the gun show at our shooting range, this weekend. I also want to empty the refrigerator, a shelf at a time, and thoroughly clean it.

While I may come off as an extrovert and he, an introvert, it’s actually the opposite. He needs to be around groups of people a lot and establishes familiar places where he can be sure to run into the same people every day. Sometimes, twice a day, either to the same coffee shop or to another. I enjoy going shooting or to a restaurant or grocery shopping with my husband, but I’m not up to large gatherings. This was true even before marriage, serious allergies, &c.

And my husband’s alarm clock just went off. It’s almost seven o’clock. I suppose he wants an early start to the day. While I go out to get his coffee started, I leave you with the limerick I wrote just before we sat down for coffee.

I hope you have a marvelous week, full of happy surprises and satisfying activities…and people around you, or not, as suits you best.

Best regards,
Lizl

“Impromptu Vacation”

There once was a motive for staying,
but now there’s a reason for leaving.
The cat and the mouse
chased the dog from the house,
so the dog and I’ve now set out roaming.

“Impromptu Vacation”. Copyright © 2015-12-05, by Elizabeth (Lizl) Bennefeld.

 

9 thoughts on “Just for the fun of it

  1. It sounds like we have similar allergy issues. I have to close up everything when folks are BBQing, or washing their cars, and avoid certain houses that use such hefty doses of chemical cleaners that I start swelling up from the street.

    I’m also an introvert who people mistake for an extrovert. My husband, though, no one would ever mistake for an introvert. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by. Sounds as though we do have similar allergies/sensitivities. My sympathies! Some of us in our neighborhood (our city uses the NextDoor app) have speculated, when some chemical smells hang over the neighborhood, that someone is cooking meth. There have been some incidents in the city, but nothing prosecuted in our immediate area. Also, people burning wire prior to selling the copper. Plastic smells.

      I wonder if the I/E messes with personal boundaries. I feel more relaxed, as though the outer world is part of me, while my husband has a sharp sense of separation and sometimes gets angry with that world because it does not think or do as he would wish. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Lizl,

    I’d like to nominate you for the Liebster Award. It’s a way for us to encourage each other.

    I’ve greatly enjoyed your work. It evokes for me a sense of calm and peace.

    The rules for nominating appear below. I’m sorry, I can’t seem to download, here, the icon for the award. It’s at my blog in the post that has the award in the title. I tend to think everyone can do computer things better than I, so I’m thinking you can copy and download the icon better than I.

    Thanks so much!–Christopher

    Below are the rules for the Liebster Award:

    1. Thank the person who nominated and link back to their blog.
    2. Display the Liebster Award on your blog.
    3. Share 11 random facts about yourself.
    4. Answer the 11 questions you were asked.
    5. Nominate 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers for the award by asking them 11 new questions (or having them answer the questions you were asked).
    6. Make sure to let the bloggers know you’ve nominated them!
    7. And don’t forget to copy the rules into your post!

    and the questions to ask—

    1. What got you started with your blog?
    2. Post a link to your favorite blog post you have written and explain why it is your favorite.
    3. What is your favorite color?
    4. Where do you get inspiration to blog?
    5. Where would you like to travel that you haven’t travelled to yet?
    6. What was your favorite book or movie as a child?
    7. What is your favorite season and why?
    8. Any goals for your blog?
    9. Do you have a bucket list? What is number 1?
    10. Favorite thing to blog about?
    11. What’s your dream job?

    Like

  3. I hope you’re feeling better and that you don’t, in fact, end up with bronchitis! December is never a fun or good time to be sick—but then again there isn’t such a thing, I suppose.

    Good luck with the new neighbors!

    Like

    • Thank you! No sign of the new neighbors, yet, but their closing date is supposed to be about now.

      I am not feeling better yet, as far as the lung irritation, but am doing what I should be doing, for the most part. (Besides finding another personal physician after the previous one quit, spring of 2015, and evidently left town. I’m hoping again to land one who doesn’t try to bully me.)

      I do hope that things go well with you and yours, this coming week. Wishing you joy!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Lizl,
    I can relate to concerns about bronchitis and “smells”. I have an auto-immune disease which has spread to include Institial lung disease. Every winter these days I get bronchitis or pneumonia yet bounce back again by ongoing miracles and medical support. I’m doing quite well at the moment and it’s Summer here now.
    Hope you’re feeling better soon.
    xx Rowena

    Like

    • Thank you, Rowena! Sorry to learn of your diagnosis of interstitial lung disease. I am vaccinated against pneumonia, and that so far seems to be containing things a bit. Glad to hear that yours is responsive to medical support. I’m still in the “dig down and isolate” stage, not having responded well to medical support. I am also hopeful.

      It would be fun, I think, to be able to travel between the two hemispheres and always have winter to enjoy (or summer, if one were inclined).

      I must find hot coffee to soothe my system, now. My first of the day. Horrors! I’ve been drinking cold water for the past hour! I hope that you will have a wonderful day, there!

      Like

And you?

