Weekend Coffee Share | Saturday

toddy coffee, yogurt, mixed fruit, cheese
Saturday’s Breakfast

If we were having coffee together, this weekend, I would tell you that I have continued to have a wonderful time writing poems, but am still having trouble seeing the computer screen clearly. We have gotten out together for grocery shopping. Al and I also went out to Denny’s Restaurant, yesterday, so that I could have an ice cream sundae. Al had a chicken-fried steak. I don’t think I know what that is, except that it isn’t on my approved menu. I thought that I had seen and talked with other people face to face, but I may just have my days mixed up. Or perhaps I am recalling my stop at the shopping mall to pick up more yogurt starter.

I did reach my goal of getting all of the yogurt jars and lids scrubbed out, washed, rinsed, and then washed and rinsed again, except for the four jars in the refrigerator that still held yogurt.

If we were having coffee, I might admit that I didn’t wake up until after seven o’clock this morning too rescue the yogurt from the incubator, put lids on the jars and settle them in the refrigerator. I tried one from the new batch, and it was good. Left in just long enough, not to long. When I got the new starter home, I read the instructions and realized that these are a different yogurt culture and are supposed to be put in to incubate at 110°F instead of 77°F, and the timing is also different. I hope that I remember that, rather than ruining a batch or two.

I worked on a couple abstract/fanciful photo art pieces, the end of this week. With the rest of my computer time, I mostly read and wrote poetry. I’m enjoying the little three-line mini-poems that I’ve been doing using Mara Eastern’s daily photographs as prompts. Not every photo inspires a poem, but a lot of them do.

If we were having coffee, I am afraid that I would fall asleep, now. I’ve already nodded off several times still holding the lapdesk. Fortunately, not while holding the cup of Oolong tea, which has become tepid.

My task for the coming week is to do serious tossing of clothing that I can no longer wear. (Some of it, I’ve hung onto from the seventies.) Also, I must sort out the books that are of little value and arrange to discard those I’ve since bought in epub or PDF editions.

I hope that you have a wonderful week!

Lizl

Please visit the coffee share site hosted by Diana at Part-Time Monster.

9 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share | Saturday

  1. One of my New Year’s resolutions too, getting rid of the clothes I no longer wear. Soooooo difficult though, so many are old, old friends with such precious memories attached. If we were having coffee, I would have liked to try one of those jogurts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • And you would be welcome to a yogurt! I’ve six 6-ounce jars still in the refrigerator and jams and preserves to go with them. 🙂 The clothes do come with memories. I am to learn, within these next few years, to quilt, and thinking that I can cut some of the special pieces into squares for a keepsake lap quilt. Perhaps I should cut quilt squares in the proper size, save the buttons to use with ties, and then toss what remains.

      I’m going to sleep, now, with ice water by my side. Best wishes for the coming week!

      Like

    • It’s a gluten-free diet. I tend not to eat bread except for sandwiches, because I don’t care for the taste or texture. Except when I bake my own, which I haven’t gotten around to, these past few years. For the store-bought, I prefer flax bread…and millet. I have problems with dyes, preservatives, artificial sweeteners, guar gum, etc. I tend toward green salads, dairy products, eggs, cheese, meats and fish.

      Like

    • It’s a gluten-free diet. I tend not to eat bread except for sandwiches, because I don’t care for the taste or texture. Except when I bake my own, which I haven’t gotten around to, these past few years. For the store-bought, I prefer flax bread…and millet. I have problems with dyes, preservatives, artificial sweeteners, guar gum, etc. I tend toward green salads, dairy products, eggs, cheese, meats and fish.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Until last year I had similar feelings about. But Franz Bakery has come with delicious GF bread. I love their 7 grain bread and their hamburger buns. The also have a cinnamon raison bread I like. You can eat them without toasting first. I am so used to toast I still prefer bread toasted.
        WORLD PEACE

        Like

  2. My breakfast today was leftover blackeyed peas from New Year’s day. I am very silly when it comes to breakfast. I could use a nice cup of oolong right about now. Oh–and you mentioned you have clothes from the 1970s??? If they are in decent condition, you might consider taking them to a resale or vintage store. They might be very glad to have them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hadn’t thought of the vintage store. I will have to look through them to see if anything is still in wearable condition. I’m about sixty pounds heavier now than I was then. They’ve been sitting in a succession of closets, like, forever.

      Today’s breakfast was lentil soup. My breakfasts are…varied. I’ve got some vegetable stock and am thinking about thawing out the rest of the New Year’s Eve shrimp tails, and putting together a shrimp & noodles soup before the end of the week.

      Last time I bought, there was a sale on Biglow’s Oolong tea. Just opened the second box that I bought for last night’s cup. That is good stuff! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

And you?

