Quirks in Learning

I have been reading an article on a blog that I follow through my poetry WordPress site’s reader. It is “Six Ways to Maintain Your Goals“, and it is very interesting.  Looks to be helpful.

I was amused to note that the first step is to Visualize Your Goals, and the second is to post notes where you will see them. Just previous to this, I had followed a link on C.L. Couch’s blog to one that includes a link to a “test” of learning preferences/tactics. The following are my VARK results, how I learn, from least to most preferred (and, I assume, most effective):

  • Visual = 1
  • Aural = 5
  • Read/Write = 8
  • Kinesthetic = 8

I am pretty sure that I would never get past the “Visualize” portion of the six steps. But, now that I have read the article, I can see how important that would be for those who visualize things and retain memories of what they see, rather than as the motion of one’s fingers (spelling, recalling telephone numbers, etc.) or writing, reading, and recalling words.

As a child I was quite nearsighted, but did not discover until the summer preceding my first year college that I needed eyeglasses. I still don’t wear glasses except specifically for eye protection. Not a social person, not a group activities person aside from band and choir. I always read my textbooks during the first week of school or, in college, during semester breaks.

I remember that in my junior year of high school, I completed all of the problems in my Algebra II text by sometime in October as compensation for not being able to see the blackboard clearly from the back row of the classroom.

I don’t know if memorizing poetry and songs would be strictly Aural, or if that could also be partly Kinetic. I know that I sometimes look back in my mind to re-hear what I had said, when I’ve said something without listening to it and then guessed that I had not said what I’d been thinking.

I’ve gone the long way about to get to the realization that I would have to substitute some other technique for the first two Ways, since I do not visualize and I am for the most part visually oblivious to my physical surroundings. (Although with my eyes shut or the lights out, I can get around the house, both levels, quite effectively.) Post-It Notes r not us. 

And also, how frustrating it must be when someone writes a note to me and puts it where I can’t miss it. Unless I’m looking for it, I don’t see it. I’m so sorry, Luv! I will try to do better!

2 thoughts on “Quirks in Learning

  1. I enjoy learning about your learning. I’m not sure how recall might be placed in the learning spectrum, overall. If you remember hearing something you said, that seems aural, certainly. Yet if you remember the scene and your posture and your gestures, that seems more kinetic, I appear to need folk to tell me pretty directly what they want. So I’m not good with Post-Its, either. Thanks for sharing your experience and perspective!

    Like

    • Now that I think about it, what I am recalling is how my mouth (jaw and tongue) felt as I was speaking. I recognize, after the fact, that what I said “felt wrong”. Thank you for mentioning that.

      When Al goes to the grocery to buy something for me, I tell him where I was standing, the direction I was facing, and then reach to the location of the product on the shelf. Ah, me!

      My friends have charitably labeled me a “straight line” thinker. And I don’t “mind read”. Mind-reading is too complicated. 🙂 Yes, direct communication; I’m not good with implications,allusions to social mores, hints, etc.

      Like

And you?

