The weather took a break

Today, the temperature has been brutally cold. I have slept through the majority of the day, finally awaking at 3 o’clock this afternoon to put the chicken breasts into the oven to cook (a staple in my soup-making.)

Yesterday afternoon, the temperature was 24°F and there was no breeze. When I took Samantha outside over the noon hour, I didn’t bother with a jacket while taking photographs. Today? 2°F and -17° for tonight’s forecast.

I think that my chest cold is clearing up, and I haven’t had any fits of sneezing since last night. I am rereading The Goblin Emperor for the third (fourth?) time in a row, now intermixed with poems in Samih Al-Qasim’s Sadder Than Water (original on the left, English on the right hand pages). I am currently reading (slowly) through the title poem. I still haven’t found my original copy, but B&N’s replacement (I ordered another copy) arrived with yesterday morning’s mail. [Joy!]

Why do I die, and not another?
And your failing depths whisper:
Because, you are a stranger
on this plane and did not know it;
and did not build it;
and you are nothing on it or in it
but an atom passing through this space….

[“Sadder than Water”, Sadder than Water, by Samih Al-Qasim, IBIS Ed., 2006, p. 171]

And you?

