From the 1970s

Going through my files, looking for those that missed the purge schedule for clients’ work, I came across one of my poetry chapbooks; it holds some of my poems from the mid-1970s to late 1980s. Somewhere I have a binder with the original typed/written poems; those sheets have dates on them. This one would, I think, have made a good prose poem, but I think the line breaks add something to it. I wrote this one in the mid-70s. Nearly 40 years ago.

TRANSFIGURATION

I thank you, Lord,
that I am not worthy.
I thank you
that I cannot dare to try
to earn your love,

Or else I’d fear that,
failing one small step,
I’d lose your love and life
and fall, a severed vine,
into the fire.

I praise you for your grace
that’s grafted me
into the Tree of Christ,

And for the Spirit’s flowing
here and there
from branch to root to branch,
bearing away by blood
the waste and residue of self,
replacing it with Christ,

Until that day when all the scars
of grafting have been healed
and all of me
has been made new in you.

Copyright © by Elizabeth W. “Lizl” Bennefeld.

2 thoughts on “From the 1970s

  1. What an outstanding song! A psalm. All the botanical references ring true and wise. It’s great that you can speak so clearly about branches, vines, and roots, and such. We cannot do anything to earn our way toward the Gardener’s presence and repair. We receive that help–that grafting, as you write–for free. That, as you say, is grace. Thank you!

    Like

    • I am pleased that you like my “psalm”. As I wrote it, I found the image to be powerful and informative. One of the few of my poems that I’ve nearly memorized.

      Like

And you?

