Weekend Coffee Share | Rough Week

If we were having coffee together, this weekend, I would apologize for being unavailable for so much of these past three days. I’ve had a rough time focusing, this week, as news headlines grabbed my attention, and I found myself slipping into shut-down mode again.

I can offer coffee, today, having put another batch of Toddy coffee in to steep overnight. We do finally have clean cups, and I’ve some fresh fruit (strawberries, blackberries and blueberries) and mozzarella cheese to go along with the coffee. I seldom have company, and so the pickings are pretty sparse.

My favorite coffee break beverage is Toddy coffee (homemade cold-brew concentrate) served with 1 part concentrate, 1 part whole milk, and 1 part cream, either hot or cold. When serving it cold, I might go a little heavier on the coffee.

I did pretty well with the exercise bike, missing only these last few days, but I did drop the piano practicing. I’ve gotten some laundry done, and half the dish-washing’s completed. I have been spending a lot of time out in the back yard as weather has allowed, reading while the puppies play or sleep.

The puppies present their own crises. The latest is the disappearance of (most of) the lanyard that was attached to my oximeter.  We expect that my puppy (Thaddeus) ate it during the hour I retreated to my room to rest (7:00 to 8:00 p.m.).

I would also tell you about the phone call I made to C., my s-i-l who lives in the same town as my parents. I have been worried about my parents, not having been able to get hold of them by telephone for several weeks. C. and I had a good talk together about meeting, perhaps, with someone in the Social Services department about finding ways to provide more services. I think I’ve convinced C. that she should not quit her job to take care of them and that we should explore other, professional options. I am concerned.

The puppies are in their kennels for serious infractions. Charlie tried to chew off Thaddeus’s ear, and Thaddeus, as I mentioned, seems to have eaten a long lanyard.

I hope that you will visit Diana’s blog to enjoy her weekend post and go on to the Link In page to find links to other Weekend Coffee Share posts. Thank you for the opportunity to natter on and blow off some steam. Perhaps I’ll follow the coffee and fruit with…supper, finally. I need to quit worrying.

Best wishes for your week!

Lizl

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share | Rough Week

  1. Oh, my goodness, the photo of the Scampers is a marvel! Toddy, berries, cheese–sounds like a feast to me. I share your concern for your parents. They need to be easily contactable by you. You have reasonable things to natter on about. And, of course, you do much more than natter. Cool word, though. I hope your week goes in a promising way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Caring for aging parents and their well-being is hard. My mom lives with me and my dad is in a nursing home (but it’s not a very good one and we’re trying to get him moved). Praying you can find some good solutions for your parents.

    Liked by 1 person

And you?

