#WeekendCoffeeShare | Life is Good | 16July16

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I could offer cold Toddy coffee, Folgers medium drip brew, and several kinds of black tea. We’ve got some half-and-half, sugar and honey to add. Also, I made up a pitcher of lemonade, last night, and still have enough for three or four servings.

If we were having coffee together, this weekend, I would share some progress made concerning my parents. Well, not exactly, but I did have the chance to visit by email with my brother who’s not local and working on an ongoing project (he’s an independent consultant, having taken early retirement and now picking the jobs he wants to take on). He and the brother in my parents’ home town (and his wife, who drops in daily on the parents) are to speak together about options, available and/or acceptable to everyone concerned.

I am sharing some of the photo art I contrived from one of the pictures that I took this morning in the wildflower garden. That would be the flower garden with blue wild flax, a pair of wild sunflowers, and common thistle (most of which I have photographed and then pulled up by the roots).

This fall I must prepare the garden for planting after the ragweed pollen season, but before the hard freeze, since the spring tree pollen is what really lays me flat. Although the ragweed in the fall gives me the most lung congestion. I’ve a whole 6 oz. of wildflower seeds that never went into the ground, because we have been busy fighting the bindweed, thistles, and other unwanted (and some still unidentified) weeds that came in with the fresh dirt that was brought in last summer to bank up the sides of the house. Which reminds me to mention that we have had heavy rains, but no basement seepage, this year, and so we are trusting that remediation measures will not have been for nothing.

The ringer on the telephone in my mother’s room had been turned on low, but is now turned up, again. When I called this week, on Friday, the phone was answered, but by my brother (whose wife drops in daily to visit with our parents and do errands). He promised to let our mother and father know that I had called. So, no chance to visit with either parent, but at least I know that they are okay. He was doing some chores and visiting with them when I called.

As for myself, all was well for most of the week. These past few days I hadn’t enough strength to do the miles on the exercise bike (I’d pedaled 3.5 miles on each of the past two or three days). I did practice the piano until today. Although the pollen count is extremely low, we haven’t had a lot of rain for a few days, so I guess there was other stuff in the air. I may start splitting my night, so that I am up at 5:30 or 6:00 in the morning to get outside and exercise before people start mowing their lawns or drying clothes to see if that helps. Today I’ve taken a lot of naps, taken photographs and played a bit with the computer photo editing software.

At eleven o’clock I prepared and ate a large salad that had lots of mixed vegetables in with the salad greens, as well as three hard-boiled eggs, along with diluted cranberry juice. Then, a nap for between two and three hours.

I’ve sat in the back yard with the dogs, but taken no more photographs. I’m currently rereading Scepters, by L. E. Modesitt, Jr. Thanks to the Apple iBook settlement, I have an extra $100 of book money, and so I replaced the four hardcover volumes of Anne Bishop’s The Others series.

I had given my first print editions to a friend, but I am not a collector, and so I do not care if the books are not from the first printing. Book five comes out, I believe, in March 2017. I wonder with each book that comes out whether the character that bears my name will finally come to a bloody end; she has rated only mentions, but not appearances or dialogue. Ah, well! She is being useful in the story’s background.

I always preorder books I want in my permanent physical book library; the hardcovers seem less toxic, once they have aired out. I think it’s because the paper does not deteriorate so rapidly.

I’m glad that you’ve joined me, today, for the Weekend Coffee Share. I trust that you will also visit Diana’s WeekendCoffeeShare post, where you will also find a Links button that leads to the links for other participants’ blog entries. I think there also are hash tags on Facebook and Twitter.

Many thanks!

Lizl

P.S. Do you have a “comfort” author to whose books you retreat in order to come to a point of rest?

Vitals:
Pulse=72 bpm, SpO2=94%
Exercise: Resting

 

5 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare | Life is Good | 16July16

  1. I have a comfort book more than a comfort author–Little Women. I’ve read it so very, very many times, and I still love it.

    Love the photos!

    Like

    • That brings back wonderful memories! Little Women was one of the first books that our parents read aloud to us, and I went on to read many of her other books. (I liked Jo the best among the sisters and particularly liked the book, Little Men.) So happy that you like the photos! 😀 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It was one of my favorite books as a kid, too. And I always did like Jo the best, but I really wanted her to marry Laurie instead of the Professor! Of course, as I got older, I began to see the wisdom of her decision!

        Like

  2. I’m glad to hear about the good things. It must be a reliefs to know (better) how your folks are doing.

    For comfort, I tend to go to J. R. R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, Lois Lowry, and Katherine Paterson.

    Have a great week! Woof to the Scampers!

    Like

    • Things are coming along. I managed 2 miles on the exercise bike, last night. I will pass along your greeting to the Scampers when they awaken. They had lots of exercise, last time we went out, chasing the bees in the wildflower patch. 😀

      I have read and enjoyed books by both Tolkien and Lewis (interesting science fiction, not to mention Screwtape).I wrote my senior English literature paper (during my jr. year, 1966-67) in college on Tolkien’s trilogy as modern-day morality play The Hobbit was delightful!

      I think that I pretty much missed out on children’s stories, other than reading Dr. Seuss books to younger siblings. Edited any number of master’s theses/project papers for folks in elementary education, however; looks like there’s nice stuff out there. Almost sorry to have missed out on some of it.

      Hope your week goes well!

      Like

And you?

