Midmorning Coffee Break / #WeekendCoffeeShare

 

photo 2016-07-14, The Scampers (cocker spaniels)
A Scamper in the flowerbed?
I saw nothing!

Welcome! If we were having coffee together, I would invite you to share some Toddy Coffee (from home-brewed concentrate), this morning. The morning started out nicely at a little before seven o’clock, when I awoke before the Scampers. When we went outside together, I put in three miles on the exercise bike while they chased each other around the yard. I am happy that we are getting together to visit this morning. My brother and his wife are driving from the Twin Cities to our parents’ home, tomorrow morning, and they plan to stop by later in the day. They’ll be staying the night (at a hotel) before driving home, again, on Sunday afternoon. He is the other “retired” sibling (among the six of us), and so is taking the lead in trying to coordinate the folks’ cares and services.

If we were having coffee together, I would tell you about my trip to see the eye doctor (MD). A new-to-me doctor that my husband has been going to for some years, now. I do have (I think he said) the beginning of a cataract, but nothing need be done about it, and my new prescription for glasses is, he did say, almost identical to the (six years ago) prescription of the glasses that I took with me to the appointment. Since losing my “good” pair of eyeglasses within the past few years, I needed the new prescription in order to purchase new ones. My husband, on the other hand, is scheduled for cataract surgery for both eyes, this fall. Because I never learned to drive a car, he will have to arrange transportation within the family or take a cab. I worry somewhat about that, but the doctor is an expert in the field.

I would tell you that I have been enjoying a good week, aside from getting to the kitchen work (surfaces, dish washing, general mayhem). I must at least get dishes washed before sibling and spouse arrive., tomorrow. We are in the midst of floor refinishing and moving furniture around, which generally will excuse the rest of the mess. At least we have a two-person sofa that’s clear of boxes and a clear path from the front door through the living room to the piano.

That has been a good thing, this week. I have gotten back into playing the piano, now that the muscle spasms in my back have vanished. (I still don’t know what that was about!) Practice went well, and I got beyond the two 12-step warm-up exercise assignments to a Minuet by J.S. Bach that I used to be able to play. It went well, everything considered. I am encouraged! I also took another shot at Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring. Not so good in spots, but it’s coming along. It is my hope to get back into, eventually, my sheet music of pieces for piano by Rachmaninoff. But I don’t know if I ever will manage Scott Joplin’s rags, again. If I make enough progress with Bach, I will try them, however. Or at least find simpler arrangements.

Also, I would share my enjoyment of going out to supper, last night. An impromptu outing initiated by my husband, we went to a nearby restaurant where one of our friends has worked for some time and is being trained in restaurant management (including, now, cooking). Al ordered the chicken-fried steak, which is off limits for me because of the gluten, and I ordered a salmon steak on spinach with other vegetables and a gluten-free English muffin. We were able to spend much time visiting together, and I brought home some of the salmon to have for breakfast, this morning.

Also this week, I finally got out to the motor vehicle department to get a new non-driver identification card. Because I do not get out much, there’s really been no need for it, but I no longer look like the picture on the old one, and I will need the updated card to vote in the November elections.

Speaking of breakfast, as I was, I believe that I will go to the kitchen, now, to scramble eggs and steam a zucchini to go with the leftover salmon. Strawberries and blackberries for afters.

Thank you for joining me, this morning. I’ve enjoyed the opportunity, and I look forward to finding out what’s been happening in your world, wherever you are.

Bests,
Lizl

Please visit Diana’s Part Time Monster blog to enjoy her Weekend Coffee Share and also to find links to other Weekend Coffee Share participants. –LB

12 thoughts on “Midmorning Coffee Break / #WeekendCoffeeShare

  1. Blast, only enough breakfast for two. It looks like I missed out and it sounded good. You have to forgive my ignorance but what are the twin cities. We have a couple of twin cities in Australia where there is a town on either side of the state border, usually separated by a river. They have different names but really are just twins. Don’t worry about the cataracts – my husband had both eyes done and I know oodles of people that have had them done – all successfully. I think the doctors do so many they have had a lot of practice. Good luck with it anyway. I cannot get over how your dog is the spitting image of my Muffin. Mine is a spoodle what is yours? Enjoy your family time. Thanks for coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Both of our dogs are American cocker spaniels. Charlie, my husband’s dog, is sable—black over brown and red. Mine (Thaddeus) is buff—cream and white with a lot of red accents. They were born in the middle of December, last year, and we brought them home at the beginning of March (I think).

      I appreciate the reassurance on the cataract surgery. I’m quite happy that I don’t need the surgery, yet, and may not for a long time. Himself is taking it in stride.

      In this case, the Twin Cities are Minneapolis and Saint Paul in Minnesota (United States), and the Mississippi River runs through it; Saint Paul is the capitol of Minnesota. Our home is in Fargo, North Dakota, which is on the border with Minnesota, which also has a “twin” city across the river: Moorhead. . Our metropolitan area consists of Dilworth and Moorhead on the east (Minnesota) side of the Red River and Fargo/West Fargo on the western side. (This is the Fargo of the movie Fargo [1996] and TV series [current].) Both my husband and I were born and raised within 50 miles/80 km of here. Hope you’re having an enjoyable weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks very much for the coffee, Lizl. It’s now Sunday night here in Australia and I’ve been running around getting organised (very much a patch job) for the week after celebrating my birthday yesterday. My little dog, Lady has been an escape artist lately and rated a mention in my Coffee Share.
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

    Like

  3. Glad to meet someone else who is Gluten Intolerant and doesn’t drive. I recently stopped driving because of my eyesight. My driving licence expired this month. I don’t plan on renewing it. But I wonder if maybe I should get a non- licence now. Your breakfast sounds delicious. I enjoyed the information on the twin-cities. We used to live in the Tri-cities. Three towns, if they joined together it would be the third largest city in Washington State. There is an excellent GF Zucchini bread on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve found many instances over the decades of needing an “official state” identification card.

      I visited Washington state in the 70s and 80s…Seattle, where I had relatives, and Issaquah, where a friend taught at LBI. Loved the countryside and the glimpses that I did get of the ocean.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Well done with your piano lessons. I have always wanted to play but never started (yet?). I can’t imagine not driving, having been behind the wheel for over thirty years, but I do have several aunts living in the city who have never had a license. It does save on insurance and car repairs! Hope all goes well with your husband’s eye surgery and your visit with you sibling. Thanks for the coffee!

    Like

And you?

