Blue Wild Flax flowers, each with a hoverfly (large and small) alongside tall grass gone to seed

Friday evening, 14 October 2016 | #WeekendCoffeeShare

Good evening! I’ve finished off my list of things to do, today, and I’m happy that you have dropped by to join me for late (or early?) coffee. Water’s hot for tea, and there’s orange and cranberry juice in the frig. (Also, cream, blackberries and strawberries while fruit is still in season.)

If we were having coffee, &c., together, I would share the memorable events and accomplishments of my week.

  • I sent off the order, today, for wildflower seeds to plant in the new garden plot.
  • I missed a day on the exercise bike. These past three days, I’ve pedaled 8 miles/day, and three to four miles a day for three days.
  • I have practiced my piano exercises and also played some performance pieces, albeit intermediate grade selections.
  • The kitchen has been clean and all dishes washed twice within the past seven days.
  • I’m caught up on the laundry, and also collected my mother’s wash from the nursing home. I found that her shawl has a new hole in it, and I must mend it before returning it.
  • Thaddeus (the younger Scamper) is on a new “Time Out” discipline regimen. When he repeats a forbidden act (e.g., stealing and eating a washcloth or towel, a facial tissue or paper towel), he goes into his kennel with the cover over it. I set the timer for 15 minutes, and then let him out, again. His behavior is improving. Also, Al got a new towel rack for the kitchen and mounted it high enough that the dogs cannot reach the cloths.

My mother got up a couple of times late in the night (early Thursday), which we did not know she could do, and fell. I would expect that she was trying to get to the bathroom. Measures are being taken.

I’ve been to the nursing home three days in a row, this week, and she’s been resting. I would share with you that I find this to be a good thing. Regaining mobility may help her to feel less anxious and thus improve her health.

I also must share that I have written a poem (see below) that I might be able to record for the SFPA’s Halloween Poetry Reading, but I’m not really happy with it. I’ve other ideas running around in my mind, but need to have nothing happening for a day or so. Also, I no longer have adequate recording software since my computers have switched to Windows 10. Sharing it with you may give me some incentive to come up with a better poem.

Childhood’s Hallowe’ens

It’s that time of year
when monsters peep
from closet doors
and gather round
from underneath the beds

to find out if you’re ripe
for different sorts of
new adventures.

Hunter, once again, this year?
or Hunted?

If we were visiting together, I would tell you that one of my great stress relievers is rereading books by favorite authors (e.g., Julie Czerneda, Sharon Shinn, Anne McCaffrey, Laura Anne Gilman, Anne Bishop (The Courtyard series), L. E. Modesitt, Jr., Mercedes Lackey, &c.). This week I finished Modesitt’s newest release: Treachery’s Tools. And then I started rereading Solar Express (November 2015).

I lasted through the week pretty well, but on Friday I had to take the day off, pretty much. A ham radio friend died on Wednesday, and Al went to the memorial service today, while I stayed home. Breathing problems and feeling dizzy. It’s good to take off time to rest, finally.

I’m going to sign off and get some sleep, before Friday turns into Saturday.

Thank you for joining me, this evening.

Lizl

P.S. Don’t forget to stop by Diana’s Part Time Monster Blog for her post and the Links button that leads to other Weekend Coffee Share participants’ posts.

The Scampers & the New Garden Plot
The Scampers & the New Garden Plot
11 thoughts on “Friday evening, 14 October 2016 | #WeekendCoffeeShare

  1. Yes, LOVE the poem!!! Sorry to hear your mom fell, hope she is okay.. We were just talking about planting more wildflower seeds this season, rather than in the spring. I hope to have a better variety next year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for tea. Great poem. My Muffin is almost the spitting image of your blonde dog and sounds just as naughty. She has improved though with age and now at one even my husband loves her. Sorry to hear about your Mum’s falls and hope her mobility improves. Rest well, cheers Irene

    Like

  3. Thank you for cranberry juice and I love strawberries as well. I like your list of accomplishments, I have to do that one time much like my list of gratitude. My two other dogs have the habit of munching whatever interesting and colorful things comes their way. Time out has worked for them too. I hope you’re having a great weekend. Well wishes for your mother, I hope she feels better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I find the list a help in focusing. 😀 I am hopeful concerning the dogs, who are 10 months old, this week. We need to spend more time in training. It has been an interestingly busy year, so far. ::sigh:: Best wishes for your weekend, also!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the notion in the poem of the monster checking to see how the mischief might go this year. How we might like to play.

    I’m sorry that you mother fell. I, too, wish for recovery.

    I’m glad you took time to rest. That’s important.

    I hope you have a really pleasant new week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your good wishes. Happy that you like the Halloween poem! Resting is good. Slept in a bit, this morning, also, and relaxing. (When I do so, I start fooling around more with the poetry.) 🙂

      Lizl

      Like

And you?

