October 29 | #WeekendCoffeeShare

light shining on the wooden ceiling
The Gazebo Ceiling

 

If we were having coffee together, I could also offer you orange or cranberry juice, or a strong, black breakfast tea. In a clean cup! (Haven’t gotten the glasses washed yet, but the flatware, cups and other assorted pieces are washed, dried and put away. Finally.) With the dry weather and people around us enjoying backyard fires, I had a rough couple of weeks, but I am now back up and doing things. (This morning: SpO2=96%, Pulse=69 bpm; 2 miles on exercise bike, and 4 miles on Friday.)

Early in the week, in advance of a storm that provided 1.2″ of rain, here, I spread wildflower seeds on my new garden plot, which is smaller, but more convenient, being 4’x12′, rather than 8’x 8′, for weeding and for taking photographs. Both annuals and perennials, so I should have flowers first thing this spring. I did buy enough seed that I can resow if the seeds germinate too early. I also plan to dig up the chives at the back step and replant them on the southwest end of the wildflower garden.

If we were having coffee together, this weekend, I would tell you that my mother is recovering from a fall in the middle of the night. It seems that she’s decided that she is able to walk, again, and so the nursing home staff have added a sensor mat in her room that runs the length of the bed. The fall and bruising meant that they could no longer give her aspirin (the only painkiller she can take), but they’ve discovered that ice has worked well, and the pain was short-lived. I was able to visit her on … on Thursday morning, I believe, while my husband had coffee with his former office mates. It’s hard to believe that it’s been five years since he worked there! Retirement truly has been wonderful. With my mother in a nursing home and definitely not returning home again, my father has decided that he no longer wishes to remain alone at the house. He and the wife of my brother living in the same town are currently exploring options, at least for the winter months. My brother and sister-in-law are hoping to make arrangements to purchase the family home. The chaplain stopped by while I was visiting my Mother. He brought his guitar and a songbook, and I had a vague remembrance of verses in addition to the first verse of the songs, so I sang along; Mother joined in for the last one. That was sort of fun. It’s been a long time since I’ve sung on a regular basis; good to know that I can.

I would share a concern and ask prayers for my youngest brother and his wife, both of whom are experiencing serious health problems; uncontrolled diabetes and advanced myotonic dystrophy, respectively. They have never been inclined to make or keep in contact with Al and me, and so I am leaving it alone, but for prayer.

For the past several weeks, I have been enjoying Facebook posts by my brother next in age to me and by his wife, sharing photographs from their three-week vacation in Asia. For once, it’s been a guided tour by bus, rather than a walking tour (mountain climbing, walking tour of Great Britain, e.g.), and so I expect that he has come back relatively rested.

I had better wind this up. The other of us and the puppies are moving around and making noise in the garage. I hope that you are enjoying the weekend! Don’t forget to visit our Weekend Coffee Share Host, Diana, at the Part Time Monster Blog and check for the Link button for more WeekendCoffeeShare posts!

Best wishes!
Lizl

7 thoughts on “October 29 | #WeekendCoffeeShare

  1. I am sorry to hear that your mother fell. I hope she’s relatively all right now. The way you told this reminded me of waking up from surgery and deciding that I should take out the breathing tube. The hospital staffers were none too pleased. I didn’t care. I even warned them that I’d probably try to do this. Having this thing stuck way down–no way. Of course, the miasma of medications was part and parcel, too. Anyway, I’m happy to read that your oxygen and pulse are so good. I will pray for your youngest brother and his wife. I can only imagine how debilitating their conditions might be. I’m writing in the new week now. In fact, it’s November. I hope this is a month of blessings for you and yours.

    Like

And you?

