Snowy Sunday | #WeekendCoffeeShare

Cotoneaster branches in the mid-morning sunlight
Snowy Sunday Morning

It’s just about time for afternoon tea, here. I’m happy that you’ve stopped in for a visit. The puppies will be waking from their nap, soon, and then things will be lively, again.

The week has been disjointed, here, as I have met with the dietitian and tried to implement the suggestions for variety, but failed miserably. My body does not like carbohydrates, and so I must cut most of them out of my diet, again. My weight loss has stabilized, now, however, within the “overweight” range, rather than “obese”, and I expect the pounds to continue dropping off, since I am maintaining the 1400-calorie diet. Just rearranging menu items a bit.

Yesterday, we took advantage of a local sale to buy (finally) replacement flooring for our kitchen. The previous tiles have been cracking and chipping off in pieces for the last few years. Since my husband has been planning (although the sudden, prolonged cold and snow will set back his timetable) to start work on the spring construction and carpentry in building his workshop in the back yard on March 1, if I don’t get the kitchen flooring installed before that project starts, it will be another twelve months or more before it’s done.

On Thursday, we made a run out to the town where the family home is, to pick up some more items that will allow my brother who is buying the house from Father to begin needed repairs and renovations, so that he and his wife can move in, once the purchase has been completed.

I must tell you that I am so pleased by the way the siblings are working together, accommodating one another’s needs and wishes regarding property to be discarded or divided. Great troupers, one and all.

After having given away my Great Books of the Western World, purchased in the late 70s, to the family of a son of one of my brothers, I have ended up with my parents’ well-worn set, purchased in 1960 or earlier, I think, since the first volume of the yearbook, Great Ideas Today, was published in 1961. My parents continued to buy the yearbooks into the mid- to late 1970s, which is when I bought my own set, and also bought the yearbooks as long as they were published. I believe the series ended in 1999 or 2000. And so I now have the complete and total set (although one volume of Shakespeare was almost totally worn out over the years) of Great Books, Great Ideas Today, and the 10 accompanying study guides, which my parents bought, but I borrowed singly as requested, once they were no longer in regular use. I am glad. I had begun to regret having given up the set, once it was housed elsewhere. Now, I have the books in which I originally had made notes while reading. So, just as well!

The snow has fallen, but is melting off somewhat. My puppies are beginning to stir, and so I must close this. I hope that your week is filled with satisfying activities and welcome surprises!

Bests,
Lizl

This week’s WeekendCoffeeShare Linkup and Post from our host can be found here: NerdInTheBrain’s blog. Enjoy!

P.S. Earlier this (Sunday) evening, my brother who lives in our home town called to let me know that our father, Roy, had just died, and he asked me to call siblings to let them know. The brother who is the executor is, of course, the one who has not been reachable. Talked or IM’ed with everyone else. Three and a half months, approximately, since Mom’s death. Dad had said only, when we were there on Thursday, that he was tired. But he’d been detached since Mom died.

 

8 thoughts on “Snowy Sunday | #WeekendCoffeeShare

    • I’ve heard that it’s quite common, yeah. We spent a couple hours this afternoon at the (not in our town) funeral home to plan and coordinate the funeral/interment activities. Is good to work with the siblings. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m so sorry about your loss. 😦
    I have a set of the Great Books of the Western World, also purchased in the 1970’s. I think I would like to give them away since all they do is sit in a box in the attic. One book is missing, having been borrowed by my daughter-in-law who lost it.

    Like

    • Maybe you could give the rest of the set to your daughter-in-law? We read ours a lot, at home, and so the volumes got pretty worn.

      Appreciating the sympathies. At family funeral planning, yesterday afternoon, a lot of us lost it. Stress/grief running pretty high. Decompress will set in, hopefully, when everyone scatters to their homes again.

      Like

And you?

