charlie, asleep

#WeekendCoffeeShare – Again, a weekend!

If we were getting together for coffee, this weekend, we might take our cups into the back yard, where we could settle into the gazebo and watch the dogs run and play together.  The rain is supposed to be over by eight o’clock, and so the ground may be dry by the time I’m awake, again. My husband has turned our garage into a workshop, where he is putting together what will become his actual workshop. His dream has been to plan and construct a freestanding workshop for his woodworking. The lumber for the frame was delivered, and he’s made enough progress that he’s recruiting friends and family to help raise the walls, sometime this week. Early, I think.

The excitement has been wearing on the puppies. Charlie fell asleep, one afternoon, on the back of the love seat. A little too much energy wore off too quickly. I’m surprised that he didn’t tumble off onto Thadd’s toy beaver.  The squeaking would have awakened Thadd, who was dozing in my chair.

Life has progressed, these past weeks. The grief counselor from hospice came by for a nice visit, a few days ago. We had only talked before, briefly, by telephone. An in-person meeting gave us a chance to get to know each other. We’ve made an appointment to get together again, a few weeks from now. I enjoyed being able to talk about my experience of and feelings about my parents no longer being alive and active in my life. Talking with someone who is not family permits me to talk more freely, and that results in my discovering what I do think and feel. And how I feel about thinking and feeling as I do.

I would share with you my delight in discovering that a new (30th anniversary) edition of my favorite Stress Management book was published in 2012, and I am enjoying my review of how to deal constructively with and mitigate the effects of stress in my life. My 12-month life changes points are well above 300, which is much too high. I don’t seem to be drowning my stress in food, however, as I continue to lose a pound of weight or more each week. Fourteen hundred calories a day now looks to me like a lot of food.

My disappointment, this week, is the discovery that all of my wildflower seeds, which had germinated periodically over this long spring, have died of the frosty nights and cold days. I found a seller on-line that sells seeds in smaller quantities than my go-to site and ordered California poppies in different colors and also both annual and perennial blue flax wildflower seeds. Perhaps by the time they show up, we will be finished with hard freezes.

I have been rereading some favorite books, this past week or so. I have just finished rereading Citizen of the Galaxy, by Robert Heinlein. The three-book As You Wish series by Mindy Klasky also has been enjoyable. As for new books, I have downloaded the Northern Yearly Meeting’s new Faith and Practice, which is available in epub format. I look forward to getting into it. A Thousand Tales of Johannesburg: A City Novel, by Harry Kalmer (a long-time Internet acquaintance), which I’m about halfway through, is fascinating. And totally beyond my experience of life. Challenging! A far cry from the rural/semi-rural Upper Midwest, where I’ve spent my life.

Late, here, getting to sleep, but I know that if I once again put my post off until morning, when I do not have enough time, I would end up not writing until Sunday evening.

I will get back to the post during the course of the weekend to add appropriate links. In the meantime, t hank you for stopping by. I look forward to seeing you again next week.

Best wishes,

Lizl

P.S. You will find the InLinkz and our host’s WeekendCoffeeShare post here: Nerd-In-the-Brain.

8 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare – Again, a weekend!

  1. You hit on one of my or peeves. Wildflowers seed mixtures. Very few the seeds will germinate and the ones that do often are ones many consider weeds. They are for a sucker market. Find a good wildflower seeds company and buy the seed for the flowers you want to grow. Seed mixtures for the Northwest often contain seed for the Midwest and are not appropriate for the NW. Find a good native plant of your areas and don’t grow seed that is not good for your area. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We’re right on the border between the Western and the Midwest areas. The mixtures that I’ve gotten in the distant past for either have turned out well…until we started getting the early, winter thaws and the late-spring freezes. I like the mixed wildflowers, though, and will add some of the seeds that are left to the annual and perennial blue flax. When I do get them to grow, I enjoy the variety.

      The hollyhocks spread like weeds, and we’ve finally eradicated them. The peonies gave up at last, and I believe the irises have followed since we had the ground built up around the house because of heavier rains, to eliminate the seepage.

      The tulips are coming up again this year, and I must dig them up, finally, this fall and separate the bulbs, which have multiplied over the past half-dozen years. I’d like to see them around the entire house, taking over the spaces that the Mexican Hats and hollyhocks once occupied.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I like Hollywood but seldom see them anymore. I am surprised that the peonies have up as they don’t like to be disturb. They are heavy feeders and might of dead from lack of food. Irises need to be divided about every third year. Lay the rhizones flat just under the surface covering with a thin layer of soil about an inches as the rhizones need sunlight to grow and bloom.
        What I trying to say if you would grow those plants native to your area you will have better results. Wildflowers is one that will grow without the aid of man. A native plant will grow without the aid of man but originate in that area. Usually the time is 100 years. An example take the Russian olive brought to southwestern states for erosion control in the 1930’s. It has been considered a weed and efforts are made to remove it. It will out grow the native plants and has not value for animals. Now I am seeing on the birding outlets that birds are feeding on the berries. There are plants native to the Midwest that there are laws forbidding the growing of them in a couple of states because of the damage that these plants do to the waterways.

        Like

  2. You are fortunate that you have a grief counsellor that can visit. It is such a hard time when you lose your parents. I feel for you. I still have my Mother but I am dreading the day it comes. Hope you manage to replace your seeds. Thanks for coffee. I’ve loved watching your puppies play. Next time I will bring my Muffin with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on The Moments Between and commented:
    I am sharing this post from one of my other blogs because I want to get caught up at The Moments Between, but realize that I’d simply repeat this verbatim or edit it down.

    Currently I am attempting to write (or, in desperation, reuse) a poem a day during NaPoWriMo2017. That may lead to more blog posts as I attempt to avoid writing poetry for 30 days in a row. ::grin::

    Like

And you?

