#WeekendCoffeeShare, 27 May 2017: A Holiday Weekend

If We Were Having Coffee Together, this morning, I would have pictures to show you from this past week. We could sit in the back yard, but Al is putting shingles on the roof of his workshop, and I’d hate for him to be distracted.  We could, however, have cookies from Tim Horton’s, dropped off unexpectedly by a neighbor. There was a delivery, evidently, at his wife’s office, but because of the holiday weekend, there was nobody else to eat the baked goods, and so we were the recipients of muffins and cookies. Al will eat the muffins, though, on his next coffee break.

A Morning Treat from the Neighbors

(The neighbor stopped to visit with Al, and so Al’s taken a coffee break, now, with the muffin that has nuts on top of it—upper right.)

I’ve been pulling weeds in the garden, off and on, where I can distinguish between wildflowers that I want and weeds that I don’t, even if they do flower. So far, I have identified a couple of plants that I am almost positive are blue wild flax. So few that I am tempted to order a quarter pound of seeds from the online company I got the seed packets from.

I would mention that our “new” soil is sandy loam that is devoid of organic material (aside from the millions of White Campion seeds that arrived with it). I have been adding spent coffee grounds to the soil in hopes that there will be some substance to hold moisture, rather than the rain’s just running off and flowing away into the storm sewers. That’s supposed to be a good soil for growing wild flax, assuming, as I am, that the watering still needs to be addressed. Good drainage, I’m figuring, is the point of it.

Wild Flax (?)

Other than that, I took a tour of other flowers, including the last tulip. There are more tulip plants, but some were eaten at by the rabbits before they could bloom, and others did not produce fully mature buds, and so no flowers to bloom. I do love the dandelions, however, and the cotoneasters are flowering. And I found a small group of wild violets that were not touched by the lawnmower when Al did yard work, earlier in the week. I’m also letting my chives flower, because I love the flowers, and I don’t use chives in bulk, and so will not be bothered by the plant’s energy put into reproduction.

I expect that we will be going to the Memorial Day services at the hometown cemetery on Monday. (I must find out what time the services will be and whether we will get there for the services or just stop at the graves. This will be the first year that final preparation of the cemetery grounds will not be personally overseen by my father. My mother had a page on her web site (which I’m maintaining for the time being, In Military Uniform, with pictures of those of us who served in the military. Of the five, Chris and Matt are still living. I wonder, sometimes, if I should link the obituaries to the parents/sibling’s web pages on Mother’s web site. I do hope that there will not be a thunderstorm over the cemetery on the day. If there is, we may rethink our plans.

I’m glad that you’ve stopped by. I have enjoyed the visit, even though you are not in the chair beside me. It’s nice to be able to talk and know that someone else is listening/reading.

Best wishes!
Lizl

P.S. Weekend Coffee Share, previously guided by Part-time Monster, is now hosted by Emily, whose blog post is here at Nerd in the Brain, with an inLinkz button that provides links to other Weekend Coffee Share participants.

11 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare, 27 May 2017: A Holiday Weekend

  1. Thanks for coffee. Your flowers look lovely. Good luck with your soil. I think I have sandy soil in my new garden also but there seems to be a clay a bit deeper down. Clay is usually quite rich in nutrient so I am keeping my fingers crossed for the 5 trees I planted yesterday. I seasoled and Charlie Carped them as well just in case. I hope Memorial Day is good for you. Have a good week.

    Like

    • We have clay underneath (about a foot of?) topsoil. The tulips were planted in that, back before we started filling in. (Against seepage into the basement of the house and under the garage floor.) The new grass and flowers that grow from scattered seed don’t extend their roots that far, evidently, and so die off.

      Sounds like good starter fertilizer and organic material for your new trees. Hope they’ll thrive.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the coffee and a peek at those lovely spring flowers. We have advanced into summer here, so it is nice to think of tulips and wild violets in bloom. Cheers!

    Like

    • I am looking forward to full summer, myself. Some of the wild violets will hang around, at least. Today, many rain showers moved through the area, and so the Memorial Day services were held in the high school gymnasium. Got to visit a bit with the brother who’s bought the folks’ home. So odd, seeing it cleaned up and refurbished, but I love the furniture they’ve selected. Ah, changes!

      Best wishes for your week!

      Like

And you?

