Dark and Gloomy | Coffee Makes Everything Better

It Was a Dark and Gloomy Morning

open trenches
waiting for inspectors
in the back yard

this morning’s thunderstorms
stretch back at least three states

Copyright © 2017-10-01, by Lizl Bennefeld.

If we were having coffee together, this morning (Yes, two days in a row!), I would tell you about yesterday’s adventures, covering the conduit trenches and related dirt as wind gusts threatened to tear the plastic sheeting from our hands before we could pin them down with old railroad ties and other assorted heavy items. We had already covered the trenches with scrap boards, so I don’t expect the trenches will fill with water. …  I hope.

My fasting blood sugar was a bit high, and so I am offering hardboiled eggs to go with the morning coffee. What do you get wrapped up in doing, last thing before bedtime, that keeps you up till all hours? For myself, I was rereading a favorite book from L.E. Modesitt, Jr.’s Imager Portfolio. And playing Dragonboard (an old Mahjongg board computer game); it doesn’t work quite right on the Windows 10 system, but it still creeps along, and I like it better than anything Microsoft apps offer. We were late getting to “puppy time”, last night, and the dogs were not inclined to play before going to sleep.

Thanks to Saturday’s activities, tacking things down before the rains came, we did not get to the butcher shop. We hope to fit that in before Al has to go off to work his volunteer shift at two o’clock. He’s working a shift three days in a row; volunteers are slow to get back onboard with scheduling following the summer’s reduced Open hours. The butcher shop has resumed posting its specials on its web page instead of their “Please call for weekly specials”, and the sale on chicken breast tempts me. I have salt-free Cajun seasoning that I favor. Although sassafras with garlic powder and a bare touch of cayenne pepper also works.

If we were having coffee together (before the real world begins for the day), I would confess that I intend to make up for last night’s short sleep by taking a nap with the puppies, once Al heads out for the afternoon.

I hope that your Sunday is/was pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,

Lizl

 

One thought on “Dark and Gloomy | Coffee Makes Everything Better

  1. You’re right, coffee makes things better. It’s how I start the day, typically. Ideally, I have coffee and read. Prudently, I try to have toast as well. I appreciate your having spices without salt. Ever since I’ve had to be salt-conscious, I’ve actually enjoyed trying the taste of other flavors. I’m glad to know that the puppies, not so much puppies now, are well. They have to be, if they are offered play time each evening. No doubt they’re well-attended throughout the day. I hope you have a delightful, new week.

    Liked by 1 person

And you?

